Lea N.’s Schul Essay

I got contacted by a 16 year old girl from Germany who had found our old blog “The American Adventure” (www.dasamerika-abenteuer.blogspot.com) on the internet. Lea ask me for permission to write a school essay about us and of course I said “Yes”. Below you’ll find a copy of the essay – I thought it’s absolutely deserved to be publish it right here!        A big “Thank you” to LEA!!! 

Ein 16jaehriges Maedchen aus Deutschland schrieb mir vor ein paar Wochen. Sie hatte unseren alten Blog “Das Amerika Abenteuer” (www.dasamerika-abenteuer.blogspot.com) im Internet gefunden und fragte mich nun um die Erlaubnis, ein Schul Essay ueber uns schreiben zu duerfen.  Natuerlich hab ich “Ja” gesagt. Hier ist nun eine Kopie des Essays, das es meiner Meinung nach absolut verdient, hier veroeffentlicht zu werden.             Vielen Dank LEA!!!

By: Lea N.                                          Source: http://dasamerika-abenteuer.blogspot.com

                                       California, here we come 

 Is their still an American Dream, or has it become an Illusion?

As an example from a Germany family, who has moved to California, I will give you my personal opinion about it.

The people I will write about are Tanja and Herbert, and they moved to California in May 2007 with their dog Kinny. Tanja won the Green Card in a lottery, which is the dream of every expatriate and then she married her boyfriend Herbert, so he can go to America with her.

First of all, there is no denying that the weather in California is really hot all year, and you have sun almost everyday and you can go to the Beach a lot.

However, there are a lot of major fires in California, and some earthquakes every month and they expect a mega earthquake (“The Big One”) in California within the next 30 years.

The second point I would like to mention is that you can build up a completely new life in California as Tanja and Herbert showed when they got a new job their, and met new people. They experienced so much other stuff, and you would not have the opportunity in Germany. 

Nevertheless you have to leave and friends behind you, and can only stay in touch with them over the Internet or over letters, and for Tanja and Herbert it was hard not seeing your family and your friends every day, even if they are visiting them a lot. Tanja and Herbert took their dog from Germany and it died after six months, because he had skin problems in California, and the doctor told them it happens often with European dogs, as they are not used to the weather and the environment.

Last but not least everyone is seeing America as the country of independence and opportunities, and Tanja and Herbert are approving that, because they are living their American Dream for over six Years now, and for them it has become true. 

They did not give up, even when the start was really hard, and they needed a lot of money, because at the beginning they had to live in Hotels and they did not have their own card so it was really expensive for them.

My personal opinion is that their is an American Dream, as you can see on their experiences of Tanja and Herbert, because if you are willing to risk it and go to a new country with almost nothing, you can build up a new life and have a great new start.

 

9 thoughts on “Lea N.’s Schul Essay

    • Danke fuer Deinen netten Kommentar auf diesem Blog! Ich habe den Tippfehler, auf den Du mich so nett hingewiesen hast, korrigiert!
      BTW – ich hoffe, Dein ach so umfangreicher Englischer Wortschatz beinhaltet auch das Wort “Arschloch” – das naemlich beschreibt Deine Person vorzueglich!

  1. Ich finde das Essay von Lea absolut gelungen. Sie hat toll recherchiert und hat wirklich eine gute Arbeit geleistet. Toll finde ich es, dass Ihr es auch in eurem Blog zeigt, da könnt ihr drauf stolz sein, dass euer alter Blog noch immer so gefragt ist (der wirklich absolut gut geschrieben ist, ich habe ihn nach Tagen zuende gelesen wie ein Buch) und Lea kann stolz drauf sein, eine so gute Arbeit geleistet zu haben.

    ich finde es schade, wenn solche fiesen Kommentare geschrieben werden. Zumal wenn man sich aufgrund von Rechtschreibfehlern, wie ich es jetzt herausgelesen habe, hochpusht. Schade! Lasst euch nicht unterkriegen. Neider gibt es überall.

    LG aus der alten Heimat
    Christina

    • Hallo Christina!
      Auch ich finde Lea’s Eassay toll und genau deshalb hab ich es hier auch veroeffentlicht!

      Solche Kommentare, wie der oben, interessieren mich nicht wirklich, ansonsten wuerde ich sie loeschen, statt zu veroeffentlichen!

      LG in die alten Heimat
      TJ

  2. Vielen dank für das veröffentlichen von meinem essay 🙂
    hat mich sehr gefreut 🙂
    Schöne Grüße nach Amerika, Lea 🙂

  3. Lea´s Essay ist super 😮
    Kann mich den vorhergehenden Kommentaren nur anschließen !!!
    Liebe Grüße aus dem ungemütlichen RD,
    Uschi

  4. Ich finds auch klasse! Ich habe euch ja auch ganz zufällig über Euren alten Blog gefunden . Ich lese sehr gerne bei dir!
    Und ‘Arschloch’ Kommentare kommen halt hin und wieder mal vor! 🙂 Über deine Antwort ans A…loch…hab ich mich gerade schiefgelacht! Klasse!
    Liebe Grüsse Anja

  5. Lea hat ihre Essay interessant geschrieben und hoffentlich hat sie eine gute Note dafuer bekommen.
    Ich kannte Euch auch schon vom vorherigen Blog.
    Einen angenehmen Sonntag wuenscht Euch,
    Karl-Heinz aus Nordwest Arkansas.

Leave a Reply

